Wonder Woman

Nominated for a single Emmy in its short three season stint, Wonder Woman – which premiered in 1976 – was the third attempt by the major networks to bring the popular comic book character to TV. Created as the result of a collaboration between the multi-talented William M. Marston and DC Comics publisher Maxwell Gaines, Wonder Woman made her world premiere in a 1941 comic book. The final product of Gaines’ request for a female comic book hero, Marston never lived to see his creation become a television star (he died prematurely from skin cancer in 1947), but his legacy lives on through the Wonder Woman franchise which continues to entertain worldwide audiences to this day…

Wonder Woman follows the exploits of the Amazonian princess, Diana, who leaves her Paradise Island home in order to bring justice to the world of men. Athletic and intelligent, Diana Prince (as she’s known to the outside world) also possesses special powers that are brought about when she whirls around to transform into Wonder Woman. Her magic belt gives her added strength, her metallic bracelets deflect bullets, and her tiara doubles as a boomerang… In addition, she’s aided by a magic golden lasso which forces her captives to tell the truth! Season 1 of Wonder Woman takes place during the era of World War II where the Allies enlist the help of the female superhero to defeat the Nazis, while Seasons 2 and 3 take place in modern day times (1977-1978)…

The Wonder Woman DVD features a number of exciting episodes including the series premiere “Wonder Woman Meets Baroness Von Gunther” in which Col. Steve Trevor – the same man who crash-landed on Wonder Woman’s home island, and thus prompted her to enter the world of men – is accused of sabotaging a series of missions under his command. Charged with treason and espionage, Trevor can only have his name cleared by Wonder Woman who uncovers a vast conspiracy by Nazi sympathizers… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include “The Pluto File” in which Wonder Woman must apprehend an Irish-born spy who steals an American-made machine that controls earthquakes, and “Formula 407” in which Wonder Woman travels to Mexico in order to recover a secret formula stolen by the Nazis…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Wonder Woman (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Wonder Woman Meets Baroness Von Gunther) Air Date: 04-21-1976
Episode 2 (Fausta: The Nazi Wonder Woman) Air Date: 04-28-1976
Episode 3 (Beauty on Parade) Air Date: 10-13-1976
Episode 4 (The Feminum Mystique: Part 1) Air Date: 11-06-1976
Episode 5 (The Feminum Mystique: Part 2) Air Date: 11-08-1976
Episode 6 (Wonder Woman vs. Gargantua!) Air Date: 12-18-1976
Episode 7 (The Pluto File) Air Date: 12-25-1976
Episode 8 (Last of the Two Dollar Bills) Air Date: 01-08-1977
Episode 9 (Judgment from Outer Space: Part 1) Air Date: 01-15-1977
Episode 10 (Judgment from Outer Space: Part 2) Air Date: 01-17-1977
Episode 11 (Formula 407) Air Date: 01-22-1977
Episode 12 (The Bushwackers) Air Date: 01-29-1977
Episode 13 (Wonder Woman in Hollywood) Air Date: 02-16-1977


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here